Honorary Chairs

Honorary Chairs
Dame Jane Goodall
D.B.E. (Dame of the British Empire); U.N. Messenger of Peace (UK). Dame Jane Goodall, is a British ethologist, best known for her exceptionally detailed and long-term research on chimpanzees of Gombe Stream National Park in Tanzania. The University of Cambridge in 1965 awarded Jane Goodall a Ph.D. in ethology (the study of animal behavior). She founded the Jane Goodall Institute in 1977 to continue her research, and establish projects to help improve human communities in the countries where there are the highest concentrations of chimpanzees. In 1991 Dr. Jane Goodall founded Roots and Shoots, a global youth service program, helping young people around the world to become compassionate leaders, and to develop the behaviors and attitudes to be good stewards of the environment. In 2002, United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan appointed Dr. Goodall to serve as a United Nations Messenger of Peace. Dr. Jane Goodall was made a Dame of the British Empire (D.B.E.) on February 20, 2004 during a ceremony at Buckingham Palace in London, and in 2006, she received the French Legion of Honor, presented by the Prime Minister Dominique de Villepin, as well as the UNESCO Gold Medal Award. More about Jane Goodall
Oscar Arias
Former President of Costa Rica; Nobel Peace Prize Laureate 1987 (Costa Rica)
Oscar Arias, Honorary Chair
  Oscar Arias Sánchez was President of Costa Rica from 1986 to 1990 and from 2006 to 2010. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1987 in recognition for his efforts to achieve the beginnings of peace during the Central America crisis.  He is also the recipient of the Albert Schweitzer Prize for Humanitarianism and a trustee of Economists for Peace and Security.  In 2003, Oscar Arias was elected to the Board of Directors of the International Criminal Court’s Trust Fund for Victims.